Grilled Chicken Breast Glazed with a Habanero Pepper Jelly BBQ Sauce

There is a saying around Ohio and probably used in other parts of the Midwest. The saying goes something like this “Ohio weather nothing better, give it 24Ā  hours and it will change”. Last Thursday it was 81 degrees here in SW Ohio. By Friday the high was 41 degrees. Yesterday it had warmed up to a balmy 65 and I decided to smoke a pork shoulder on the Weber.

www.dadwhats4dinner.com

Grilling season is here, so today I decided to try a new grilled chicken recipe. The pepper jelly I use in this recipe is from habanero peppers I grow in my garden each year along with the essential ingredients to my homemade salsa.Ā  Habanero jelly is not as hot as you think, but is does have great flavor, especially in this homemade BBQ glaze. Any type of pepper jelly will work with this recipe. Reserve some of the marinade to glaze the chicken as it grills. I served this with simple brown rice and grilled corn on the cob. Gotta love grilling season!

Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce

2 tablespoons pepper jelly

2 tablespoons chili sauce

1 tablespoon honey

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1 teaspoon Dijon or honey mustard

3-4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

Directions:

Mix all ingredients except chicken in microwave safe dish.

dadwhats4dinner.com
dadwhats4dinner.com

Microwave on high for 90 seconds.

Whisk to combine.

Reserve 1/4 cup of mixture for basting chicken while grilling.

Put chicken and marinade in Ziploc bag.

Marinate chicken in fridge for 30 minutes.

As chicken marinates heat grill over medium high heat.

Lightly oil grates.

IMG_1462
dadwhats4dinner.com

Remove chicken from marinade and place on hot grill. Discard marinade.

Grill chicken approximately 10 minutes per side, basting with reserve glaze, until internal temperature reaches 160 degrees.

Remove and let stand 5 minutes before cutting.

Serve with rice, corn and remaining glaze

Enjoy!

dadwhats4dinner.com
dadwhats4dinner.com

10 thoughts on “Grilled Chicken Breast Glazed with a Habanero Pepper Jelly BBQ Sauce”

    1. I need to revisit this recipe and take some new picks. Made it a couple of years ago. I love habanero’s. I canned a new batch of habanero jelly and habanero mustard few weeks ago. If you want to give them a try on some recipes and write up a post let me know and I will get them to you. Have a great weekend. Quinn

      1. Send me and email and I will make arraingments. Made a Cherry Habanero BBQ Sauce, with the jelly, for Chicken Bacon Sticks I grilled yesterday. Plan on posting both tomorrow and Friday and bring to Friday Favorites. :))))

  1. I’m ready to fire up the grill right now…that looks delicious! Thanks for sharing it with us at #FoodieFriDIY!

Leave a comment