www.dadwhats4dinner.com

Blueberry Sour Cream Skillet Bread with Streusel Topping

Today, July 11th, is National Blueberry Muffin Day. Okay, so this is not a blueberry muffin, it is something better. And I mean way better! My skillet bread uses a simple batter that could be used for muffins, but why when you can make skillet bread. The cast iron skillet allows the bread to cook evenly and gives a nice crust to the outsides of the bread.

www.dadwhats4dinner.com

The sour cream and lemon juice add a nice tang to the sweet and tartness of the blueberries. You will want to definitely make this for breakfast tomorrow. I should have made two because my first bread was gone in a couple of hours. I had to hide a piece for my wife to have when she got home. Darn kids wouldn’t stop eating it. :))

www.dadwhats4dinner.com

If you like what you see, please sign up to receive all my new recipes via email or follow me on Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest.


Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter, divided (1/3 cup for batter and 2 tbsp for streusel)
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 heaping tbsp low fat sour cream
  • 1 1/2 cups King Arthur all-purpose flour plus 2 1/2 tbsp for berries
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries

Streusel Topping


Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F.
  2. Cut a piece of parchment to fit the bottom of an 8 inch cast iron skillet (can use other type of oven proof pan). Spray paper and skillet with cooking spray.
  3. In a mixing bowl, beat together butter, 1 cup sugar, lemon juice and eggs.
  4. Beat in sour cream.
  5. In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking powder and salt.
  6. Add flour mix and milk to butter egg mix alternating dry ant wet until combined.
  7. Rinse and drain blueberries.
  8. In flour bowl add blueberries and toss them in 2 1/2 tablespoons of flour. This prevents blueberries from sinking.
  9. Lightly fold blueberries into the batter. Pour batter into prepared cast iron skillet.Blueberry Sour Creme Skillet Bread with Streusel Topping
  10. In separate bowl combine streusel topping ingredients. Sprinkle batter with streusel.Blueberry Sour Creme Skillet Bread with Streusel Topping
  11. Bake in preheated oven for about 45 to 50 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of the bread comes out clean. Cool bread in pan for 30-40 minutes on a wire rack.

Enjoy!

Blueberry Sour Creme Skillet Bread with Streusel Topping

Loosely adapted from AllRecipes

15 thoughts on “Blueberry Sour Cream Skillet Bread with Streusel Topping”

  1. Wow! What a great recipe! After reading about this I’m tempted to leave and buy a skillet right this second! I’ll be pinning-maybe I can use this for my upcoming brunch! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Ooooooh Quinn!! Wow, how delicious does that look?! I love using my cast iron skillets, I think I’ll have to change things up a bit from the usual savory food in the skillet routine and make this skillet bread! 🙂

Leave a comment